A Daily Webzine Celebrating The Wonder Of Individuality & The Blood Type Diet®

Hidden Sources of Gluten in Restaurants

If you’ve gone gluten free, you know how challenging it can be to find foods that don’t contain gluten.   But there may be some hidden sources of gluten in restaurants that you should be aware of…take note!

Some restaurants add pancake batter to scrambled eggs to make them fluffier!  Make sure that you are getting REAL eggs (not egg substitute) and that they are prepared without any additives.

Chefs often dust their fish with flour before preparing to prevent it from sticking to cooking surfaces.  Check with your server to be sure that yours is prepared without flour.

Some soups are made with a roux, which is a flour base.  Check before ordering!

Make sure to eat real crab!! Real crab is gluten-free, imitation crab often is not.

Sauces like soy sauce and teriyaki sauce typically contained fermented wheat.

Breadcrumbs are often added to burgers, meatballs, and meatloaf.

Vegan meats products are often made from wheat.



Dr. Peter D'Adamo is a naturopathic physician, author, researcher-educator and software developer. He is considered a world expert on glycobiology, principally the ABO blood groups and the secretor (FUT2) polymorphisms. He is the author of the international best-seller, Eat Right 4 Your Type and the Blood Type Diet series of books, and he is currently a Distinguished Professor of Clinical Sciences at the University of Bridgeport, Connecticut.

Categories: Blood Type Diet, Diet Tips, Practical Advice

Tags: , , , ,